Chapter 14: Financial Considerations

- Introduction: #intro
- Federal Income Tax Guidelines: #fedtax
- Subsection -- Defining Your Operation: #defining
- Subsection -- Expenses: #expenses
- Subsection -- Operating Expenses and Carrying Charges: #operatingexpenses
- Subsection -- Timber Sale Income: #timbersaleincome
- Subsection -- Other Timber-Related Income: #otherincome
- Subsection -- Form 1099, Information Return: #1099
- Subsection -- Cost-Share Payments: #costshare
- Subsection -- Casualty Loss: #casualtyloss
- Property Taxes: #propertytaxes
- Financial Analysis of Woodland Investments: #investments
- Subsection -- Steps in a Financial Analysis: #steps
- Carbon Credits for Forestry: #carboncredits
- Subsection -- Market for Forest-based Carbon Credits: #carbonmarket
- Subsection -- Landowner Enrollment Procedures: #carbonenrollment
- Subsection -- Verification: #carbonverification
- Subsection -- Trading Carbon Credits: #carbontrading
- Estate Planning: #estateplanning
- Subsection -- Wills and Trusts: #willstrusts
- Subsection -- Types of Business Ownership: #businessownership
- Subsection -- Land Protection Options: #landprotection

Chapter 14: Financial Considerations

  1. Introduction
  2. Federal Income Tax Guidelines
    - Defining Your Operation
    - Expenses
    - Timber Sale Income
    - Other Timber-Related Income
    - Form 1099
    - Information Return
    - Cost-Share Payments
    - Casualty Loss
  3. Property Taxes
  4. Financial Analysis of Woodland Investments
    - Steps in a Financial Analysis
  5. Carbon Credits for Forestry
    - Market for Forest-based Carbon Credits
    - Landowner Enrollment
    - Procedures Verification
    - Trading Carbon Credits
  6. Estate Planning
    - Wills and Trusts
    - Types of Business Ownership
    - Land Protection Options
  7. Suggested References

--------

Federal Income Tax Guidelines
- Defining Your Operations

- Expenses
-- Capital Expenses
-- Operating Expenses and Carrying Charges
-- Timber Sales Expenses

- Timber Sale Income
-- Determining Amount of Income
-- Determining Type of Gain or Loss

- Other Timber-Related Income

- Form 1099, Information Return

- Cost-Share Payments
-- Timber Stand Improvements
-- Reforestation

- Casualty Loss --END EXPENSES

- Property Taxes

- Financial Analysis of Woodland Investments
-- Steps in Financial Analysis

- Carbon Credits for Forestry
-- Market for Forest-based Carbon Credits
-- Landowner Enrollment Procedures
-- Verification
-- Trading Carbon Credits

- Estate Planning
-- Wills and Trusts
-- Types of Business Ownership
-- Land Protection Options