- Introduction: #intro
- Determine Trail Uses: #trailuses
- Select the Corridor: #selectcorridor
- Subsection -- Use Photos and Maps: #photosmaps
- Subsection -- Scout the Trail Corridor: #scoutcorridor
- Subsection -- Additional Points to Consider: #additionalpoints
- Establish Design Standards: #designstandards
- Mark Trail Location: #marktrail
- Clear the Trail: #cleartrail
- Construct the Tread: #constructtread
- Subsection -- Factors Affecting Tread Choice: #factorstread
- Subsection -- Tread Materials: #treadmaterials
- Subsection -- Tread Edging: #treadedging
- Install Structures: #installstructures
- Subsection -- Crossing Flat Land: #crossingflatland
- Subsection -- Crossing a Hillside: #crossinghillside
- Subsection -- Divert Water Flowing Down the Tread: #divertwater
- Subsection -- Climbing and Descending Steep Slopes and Cliffs: #steepslopescliffs
- Subsection -- Crossing Wet Soil: #crossingwetsoil
- Subsection -- Crossing Waterways & Gullies: #crossingwaterways
- Subsection -- Abutments: #abutments
- Subsection -- Girders and Trusses: #girderstrusses
- Subsection -- Trails that Cross or Utilize Roads: #trailsraods
- Subsection -- Crossing Fences and Gates: #crossingfencesgates
- Sign the Trail: #signtrail
- Subsection -- Trailhead Sign: #trailheadsign
- Subsection -- Confidence Markers: #confidencemarkers
- Subsection -- Directional Signs: #directionalsigns
- Subsection -- Warning Signs: #warningsigns
- Install Facilities: #installfacilities

 

Chapter 13: Recreational Trail Design

  1. Introduction
  2. Determine Trail Uses
  3. Select the Corridor
    - Use Photos and Maps,
    - Scout the Trail Corridor,
    - Additional Points to Consider
  4. Establish Design Standards
  5. Mark Trail Location
  6. Clear the Trail
  7. Construct the Tread
    - Factors Affecting Tread Choice,
    - Tread Materials,
    - Tread Edging
  8. Install Structures
    - Crossing Flat Land,
    - Crossing a Hillside
    - Divert Water Flowing Down the Tread,
    - Climbing and Descending Steep Slopes and Cliffs,
    - Crossing Wet Soil, Crossing Waterways and Gullies,
    - Abutments,
    - Girders and Trusses
    - Suspension Cables
    - Trails that Cross or Utilize Roads
    - Crossing Fences and Gates
  9. Sign the Trail
    - Trailhead Sign
    - Confidence Markers
    - Directional Signs
    - Warning Signs
  10. Install Facilities _

 

  1. Introduction
  2. Determine Trail Uses
  3. Select the Corridor
    - Use Photos and Maps
    - Scout the Trail Corridor
    - Additional Points to Consider
  4. Establish Design Standards
  5. Mark Trail Location
  6. Clear the Trail
  7. Construct the Tread
    - Factors Affecting Tread Choice
    - Tread Materials
    -- Bedrock
    -- Soil
    -- Vegetation
    -- Wood Chips
    -- Paving Stones/Bricks
    -- Porous Pavement Grids
    -- Solid Pavement Panels
    -- Asphalt
    -- Concrete
    - Tread Edging
  8. Install Structures
    - Crossing Flat Land
    - Crossing a Hillside
    -- Full-Bench and Cut-and-Fill Trail
    -- Retaining Wall
    -- Outslopes and Inslopes
    - Divert Water Flowing Down the Tread
    -- Rolling Grade
    -- Waterbars
    - Climbing and Descending Steep Slopes and Cliffs
    - Crossing Wet Soil
    - Crossing Waterways and Gullies
    - Trails that Cross or Utilize Roads
  9. Sign the Trail
    - Trailhead Sign
    - Confidence Markers
    - Directional Signs
    - Warning Signs
  10. Install Facilities